Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Skip to main content

Advertisement

Jul 22, 2024

Brian Out Loud

No matter where you live in Santa Rosa County, you have to be proud to have someone representing this area on one of the biggest stages.
In this instance, we’re talking about Navarre alum Emily (Madril) Sams, who is in Paris this week for the 2024 Olympics. She’s an alternate on the United States Women’s National Soccer Team.

Jul 18, 2024

For God’s Sake: Some comments on commentaries

A relative recently asked for my opinion on her pastor’s Bible commentary recommendation to her. Of course, the commentaries he recommended are those he uses for his own personal study. I considered his list of three and, whereas they would provide a reader with some interesting information on the Bible, in my opinion, they were not the best for helping someone better understand the message of the Bible.

Jul 18, 2024

Out and About

This is probably a subject I should have taken more time to hash out before I wrote an entire column about it, but here it is regardless.

Jul 18, 2024

There’s a lot of unknowns for Navarre incorporation to be on November ballot

If there’s anything we know after hearing years – even decades — of debate about incorporating Navarre, it’s this: there are a lot of people out there that believe they know what’s best for Navarre’s future.

Jul 15, 2024

Brian Out Loud

We have a football all-star game and a basketball all-star game. We also have all-star games for soccer, baseball and softball. Those are the typical sports you’d expect to have a game for simply because they are the high-profile ones in this area.

Jul 11, 2024

For God’s Sake: Who is this about?

The Book of Acts describes an encounter between Phillip, a newly minted deacon, and an Ethiopian court official, who was sitting in a chariot reading Isaiah 53. The Spirit of God directed Phillip to ask him if he understood what he was reading. “How can I, unless someone guides me? About whom, I ask you, does the prophet say this, about himself or someone else?” Phillip told him from the Scriptures the good news about Christ Jesus, and that man put his faith in Christ.

Jul 11, 2024

Out and About

Last week’s column was a re-run from 2019’s Independence Day paper. I didn’t receive any complaints, and I thought it was still interesting and I hoped you would too. It was, after all, verified history from more than 200 years ago so…it wasn’t stale. It is always good to reminder during Independence Day celebrations.  

Jul 11, 2024

Bypass talks sound optimistic, but Navarre residents will believe it when they see it

Last week, Rep. Dr. Joel Rudman said that the U.S. Air Force and local and regional governments are moving closer to making a Hurlburt Field bypass road a reality.

Jul 8, 2024

Brian Out Loud

Good news for Navarre. The Raider baseball and softball programs now have their coaches in place.
I’d like to think everyone is happy with the two who have been chosen to fill those roles, but this is high school sports we are talking about, so maybe not.

Jul 2, 2024

Out and About

Happy July 4!

We need to be reminded occasionally that freedom isn’t free, and we know that only too well in our military community. Most of the signers of the declarations signed their lives away with the stroke of a pen. I recently ran across this on singer Michael W. Smith’s website, and it is a message that we all need to hear, regardless of the time of year.

error: Content is protected.