Work is underway to restore the historic Mine Loading Building at Fort Pickens. It will eventually be open for public use.
The project is the first of three phases to stabilize and restore the building so that it can be used as an interpretive exhibit space for visitors to learn about the history of Fort Pickens and the Mine Planter Service.
The project involves repairing and replacing brick and mortar of the building’s walls while also repairing the historic crane and the associated equipment with it. The roof will be replaced as well with a historically accurate and more sustainable roof. Non-historic features will be demolished.
The second phase will involve preparing the structure for visitor use by addressing the floor. Accessible access will be added and drainage issues around the exterior of the building will be dealt with. The final part of the project features the installation of new and dynamic interpretive exhibits.
The Mine Loading Building was built in 1907, completing the final assembly of underwater mines used to protect the entrance to Pensacola Bay by the Mine Planter Service.
The restoration project on the Mine Loading Building is funded by park entrance fees. Revenue from the entrance fees remain with the National Park Service to help ensure a great experience for all visitors.