Florida’s minimum wage rises to $8.05 an hour on Jan. 1

Florida’s minimum wage is going up to $8.05 an hour, a 12-cent increase, on Jan. 1.

Voters in 2004 approved a constitutional amendment that established a minimum wage for the state. The amendment requires that the hourly wage be readjusted each year based on the rate of inflation.

Since voters approved the amendment, the state’s minimum wage has increased by nearly $3.

Some Democratic legislators have proposed raising the state’s minimum wage to $10.10 an hour but the proposals have been rejected by the Republican-controlled Florida Legislature.

The new minimum wage for tipped employees must be at least $5.03 an hour.

Florida is among 21 states that will see an increase in 2015.

The raises will affect 2.4 million workers, and the increase will mean an average hourly wage of $8 and a high of $9.15.

“It’s not going to bring them a life of luxury,” but it will help those who are struggling to get by, said David Cooper, a senior economic analyst for the Economic Policy Institute.

The federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour.

Contact Us

Navarre Press

7502 Harvest Village Ct.
Navarre FL 32566


Social Connections

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Your Name

Your Email

Search in Site

You must be logged in to post a comment Login